Saturday, July 18, 2015

House Committee calls Planned Parenthood official in undercover video for briefing

House Energy and Commerce Committee leaders today requested Planned Parenthood Federation of America make Dr. Deborah Nucatola available to brief the committee.

Dr. Nucatola, Planned Parenthood’s Senior Director of Medical Services, appeared in a recently released video discussing the sale of fetal body parts. Committee leaders launched an investigation on Wednesday.

“Dr. Nucatola’s statements raise most troubling questions with regard to your organization’s practices when performing abortions and whether those practices are consistent with federal law, including those laws restricting partial birth abortions and the sale of human fetal tissue,” wrote the members.

The members continued, “Given your statement that this video falsely portrays Planned Parenthood and the questions raised by the video, we respectfully request that Dr. Nucatola provide a briefing to committee staff no later than July 31, 2015, to explain specifically the context and meaning of her statements on the video, what comments were edited or not portrayed accurately, and to provide information so that we may better understand your organization’s practices and standards relating to the collection and sale of fetal tissue.”

The leaders also requested that Planned Parenthood and its affiliates “preserve and retain all documents relating or referring to the collection, sale, and/or donation of fetal tissue.”

The letter was signed by the following Republican members of the Energy and Commerce Committee:

Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Fred Upton (MI)
Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee Chairman Tim Murphy (PA)
Energy and Commerce Committee Vice Chairman Marsha Blackburn (TN)
Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee Vice Chairman David McKinley (WV)
Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Emeritus Joe Barton (TX)
Health Subcommittee Chairman Joe Pitts (PA)
Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (TX)
Morgan Griffith (VA)
Larry Bucshon, M.D. (IN)
Bill Flores (TX)
Susan Brooks (IN)
Markwayne Mullin (OK)
Richard Hudson (NC)
Chris Collins (NY)
Kevin Cramer (ND)

No comments:

Post a Comment