Friday, July 03, 2015

Part Two: Our road to Independence

Contributor article by Dan Wilson

After the Pilgrims made their first successful settlement in 1621, ships began to make the crossing from England, Carrying both Supplies and passengers. With each new arrival new villages began to spring up all along the Eastern Seaboard.

At first the Native Americans usually had no problems with these new immigrants but Native Americans had no concept of owning a parcel of land. This combined with many cultural differences led to confrontations. Some were settled quickly while others developed into all out wars.

As more and more people began to arrive along the Eastern Seaboard the British began to create a series of Colonies. The creations of the Colonies began in 1660 with the creation of the Provincial Colonies consisting of New Hampshire, New York, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia and eventually Massachusetts. These provincial Colonies were also referred as Royal Colonies. Each of these “Governors” were from British Royalty who created their own laws at will and were in complete control over these specific Colonies.

The Next Group of Colonies to be created were known as Proprietary Colonies that consisted of Pennsylvania (which included Delaware), New Jersey and Maryland. These Colonies were Governed much like Provincial Colonies, though the Proprietors rather than the King appointed the Governor. These Colonies also had more religious freedom than the Provincial Colonies.

The Final Group of Colonies were known as Charter Colonies that consisted of Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island and Providence Plantations. These were known as Charter Corporations that were created by letters Patents. Giving grantees control of the land and the powers of their legislative Governments. The Charters would provide a fundamental Constitution, and divided powers of the Executive, Legislative and Judicial branches of Government. These powers we were given by vested Officials.

This last group of Colonies that were created would eventually be adopted in the creation of the Constitution of the United States of America. These thirteen Colonies would become known as the United States. Though it would take another sixty years before the original thirteen Colonies would succeed from British control.

This ends Part II of our three part series on our Road to Independence. In Part three we will be discussing the growing dissention against the British and the events leading up to the Filing of the Declaration of Independence. Thanks for taking the time to read our little trip through history and once again I wish all of you a happy Fourth and please never forget to pray for our Country. GOD BLESS AMERICA.

No comments:

Post a Comment