Tuesday, January 06, 2015

John Boehner re-elected Speaker of the House: 25 Republicans vote against him


John Boehner (R-OH) has been re-elected as the Speaker of the House. Boehner was elected by 216-164 over his nearest challenger, Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA).

Since several Democrats were absent from the vote to attend the funeral of former New York Governor Mario Cuomo, only 408 House members were present for the vote. This meant that Boehner only needed a little over 200 votes to win re-election as the Speaker.

Here is the full list of Republicans who voted against Boehner, and who they voted for:

Justin Amash (MI), Rep. Jim Jordan

Brian Babin (TX), present

Rod Blum (IA), Webster

Dave Brat (VA), Duncan

Jim Bridenstine (OK), Gohmert

Curt Clawson (FL), Sen. Rand Paul (R-KY)

Scott DesJarlais (TN), Jordan

Jeff Duncan (SC), Trey Gowdy

Scott Garrett (NJ), Webster

Chris Gibson (NY), McCarthy

Louie Gohmert (TX), Gohmert

Paul Gosar (AZ), Webster

Tim Huelskamp (KS), Webster

Walter Jones (NC), Webster

Steve King (IA), Webster

Tom Massie (KY), Yoho

Mark Meadows (NC), Webster

Richard Nugent (FL), Webster

Gary Palmer (AL), Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-AL)

Bill Posey (FL), Webster

Scott Rigell (VA), Webster

Marlin Stutzman (IN), Webster

Randy Weber (TX), Gohmert

Daniel Webster (FL), Webster

Ted Yoho (FL), Yoho

“We knew going into this fight that it would be a David versus Goliath effort, but each year the tally grows of fiscal conservatives in the House willing to change the status quo.

“Renewing the Export-Import Bank used to be automatic, it isn’t today. Raising the debt ceiling used to be automatic, it isn’t today. Re-electing the Speaker of the House used to be automatic, it isn’t today.

"This is the beginning of a paradigm shift in Congress, where inside baseball is now the people’s business," Freedom Works’ Matt Kibbe said.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z0BcjTe_XR4]

No comments:

Post a Comment