Monday, January 05, 2015

Names of Republicans planning to vote against John Boehner


Here is the current list of Republicans who have said they plan to vote against John Boehner for Speaker of the House:

Rep. Louie Gohmert (TX): “At this point, the Speaker’s election is not about a particular candidate. It is about whether we keep the status quo or make the change the country demands. I am putting forward my name for consideration as Speaker and hope that with a new Speaker, be that me or someone else, we can fight for the ideals and principles that the voters wanted when they elected us in November.”

Rep. Ted Yoho (FL): “Our vote for a new Speaker is not a personal vote against Representative Boehner – it is a vote against the status quo.

“Our vote is a signal to the American people that we too, have had enough of Washington politics, and that we will stand with the American people. This is a renewed commitment of our Oath of Office, the people we represent, and the Constitution. In 2015, we will take America back, we will restore opportunity for every American, and we will rebuild America.”

Rep. Steve King (IA): “I am convinced Congress will not be allowed to restore its constitutional authority under his Speakership and by refusing to do so, cannot call upon the courts to do so.

"How then, can I take an oath to the Constitution and put up a vote for John Boehner, almost in the same breath?”

Rep. Jim Bridenstine (OK): “In my opinion, this vote is between continuing the status quo or moving in a new direction. Members of Congress now have two good choices, neither one including a vote for the status quo.”

Rep. Dave Brat (VA) (freshman): “While I like Speaker Boehner personally, he will not have my support for Speaker. Washington is broken in part because our party’s leadership has strayed from its own principles of free market, limited government, constitutional conservatism.”

Rep. Thomas Massie (KY): “I will vote for a speaker who can articulate a constitutional vision for America and facilitate an inclusive and orderly legislative process that allows Congress to truly reflect the will of the people.”

Rep. Marlin Stutzman (IN): “One month after winning the 2014 midterm elections, the current House leadership forced members to vote on the ‘CROmnibus’ legislation less than three days after it was introduced, a violation of the spirit of the House of Representatives ‘three-day rule’ before voting on bills.

“Legislation that contains almost 1,700 pages of legal language deserves the time and attention required to comprehend its content before bringing it to the floor for a vote. Recorded votes that break our own rules are no better than ‘passing a bill so we can find out what’s in it.’ ”

There are also 7 more possible no votes against Boehner, but these folks have not announced their intentions:

Rep. Walter Jones (NC)

Rep. Gary Palmer (AL) (freshman)

Rep. Paul Gosar (AZ)

Rep. Justin Amash (MI)

Rep. Glenn Grothman (WI) (freshman)

Rep. Jody Hice (GA) (freshman)

Rep. Barry Loudermilk (GA) (freshman)

Rep. Steve Pearce (NM)

Rep. John Ratcliffe (TX) (freshman)

Rep. Mark Walker (NC) (freshman)

Here are the Republicans who voted against Boehner in 2013 but plan to vote for him on Tuesday:

Rep. Mick Mulvaney (SC)

Rep. Raul Labrador (ID)

Rep. Tim Huelskamp (KN)

A total of 29 Republicans are needed to vote against Boehner to remove him as Speaker of the House.

1 comment: