Thursday, January 03, 2013

Boehner Loses Speakership... then Doesn't Thanks in Part to Michele Bachmann

What a tangled web people weave. Numerous reports surfaced yesterday that House Republicans would block John Boehner from being reelected as Speaker. Looks like that bluster was all for not.

17 Republicans had to break away from voting for Mr. Boehner. Nine voted against him, including: Justin Amash (R-MI), Jim Bridenstine (R-OK), Louie Gohmert (R-TX), Tim Huelskamp (R-KS), Walter Jones (R-NC), Thomas Massie (R-KY), and Ted Yoho (R-FL).

Eight abstained, making it clear that they might vote against Bachmann if the opportunity presented itself, including the famed Michele Bachmann. That's the magic number: 17.

At the last moment, however, Bachmann declared that she was no longer abstaining and... voted for Boehner. This gives Boehner reelection and most certainly, many conservatives will be calling her a RINO.
Large and apparently in charge
Please bookmark!

No comments:

Post a Comment